2013!! Here we go!!!

I’m really really sorry in advance because today I feel like boasting! 

I REALLY REALLY LOVE MY JOB! I feel soo outrageously lucky to be able to do what I love on a daily basis! When people ask me what I do for a living, it’s always a challenge not to talk their ear off about photography and how much I truly enjoy my job! This year has many new exciting chapters starting in my career which I’m head-over-heals thrilled about! I’m shooting my first destination wedding in 34 days on a gorgeous Princess cruise ship called The Ruby Princess, sailing out of Florida on the Caribbean! The lovely couple will be getting married at sea and we’ll be doing some creative shots on Princess Cays and either St-Marteen or St-Thomas! I’m beyond thrilled! I’ll have about 20,000 worth of gear coming with me, mainly cause I can’t decide on how many cameras to bring, currently the count remains at 7! When I get back, I’ll be headed to Texas for SXSW then Mexico for my first gay wedding on Isla Mujeres, then Germany in April!! Sometimes I have to shake my head and repeat “You are actually getting paid to travel AND do what you absolutely love!” because I just can’t really believe it! I think because I’m so utterly passionate about what I do (and because photography kicks ass and I’m a total geek!) it irritates me to no end to hear about photographers who just “shoot weddings because the moneys good”, this makes me unbelievably mad as I feel such an intense privilege when people choose me to photograph such an important significant day, me! a total stranger! It makes me even happier when their totally ecstatic about my work and hiring me! It’s such a true, heartwarming compliment. Another reason I love wedding photography is because it allows me the freedom to volunteer my time and talents as much as possible. This year I committed 250+ hours to various charitable organizations, although I’ve mainly been focusing on my work with NILMDTS, an organization that provides beautiful, free of charge, heirloom portraits to families facing the untimely death of an infant. I’ve been photographing about 1-2 portraits a week with NILMDTS, and it’s proven to be one of the most difficult things I’ve done in my entire life, however one of the most rewarding things I have ever done. I feel incredible blessed having the ability to help people through their grief or celebrate with others during some of the happiest moments of their lives. 

Side note, here’s a couple portraits I shot last week with the gorgeous Casey Linn in my loft in the Annex. It was so nice to shoot a non-chalant collaborative creative for once in a lonnnng time! Had to remind myself to sit, relax and compose, instead of what I’ve been doing mostly all summer, which was stress, rush and get as many great shots in as little time as possible. Now time to re-train the brain! This is why I’ve always loved film, knowing that each shot costs a couple dollars really inspires you to take things more slowly, to wait for the ideal moment instead of shooting 20+ and hoping one of them was good.

xoxoxo thanks for reading!! 
Lori

_W_32263 _W_32371
 

 

Leave a Reply

