Canada’s Bridal Show 2012

IMG_1169

 

This past weekend I took part in Canada’s Bridal Show at the Toronto Metro Convention Center. I had a good idea of the amount of work and prep involved the only thing I didn’t necessarily foreshadow was the final cost of my booth, it turned out to be double what I had expected. But that’s okay, I wanted to create something completely different than what I’ve seen before at soo many other wedding shows, no matter the cost, however I did have to max out when I passed double my allocated budget, with still no flooring. I wanted something however that reflected my work, my passion and inherent desire to always be pushing my abilities to the next level. I completely integrated myself in every single aspect of my booth from selecting (and re-selecting/painting) my booth walls, to hunting down vintage looking Victorian frames to the design of my albums, up to the specific stock for my wall prints and handouts. I wanted my booth to be a direct reflection of my quality of work and attentiveness to detail. The design, planning and execution of my booth took about 5 months, with each passing month containing a new level of excitement. The most wonderful part of this whole process was getting to speak with so many different people at the actual show and to hear the rave reviews of my booth and how much everyone absolutely love the change from the standard ikea-framed-cheap-curtain layout that was present at most booths. I learned a lot this weekend and can’t wait to apply it to my booth next year! It was so uplifting to see so many people stop and stare in awe at my booth and the dialog I heard while people flipped through my albums, brought a completely new level of satisfaction and pride to what I do. It had a reassuring calming effect that I am exactly where I am meant to be.

I’d really want to thank my friends and family for their encouragement and support throughout this huge process. A special thanks for my two amazingly helpful best friends who fed me and kept me company this weekend, Thank you Tisha Myles and Caroline Storey, your support means the world to me and without you my voice would most likely be completely gone! Another HUGE thanks goes to my outstanding boyfriend who helped this past week driving, building and orchestrating the logistics of my big idea and for the unneding support and hugs when my brain felt like it was going to melt. Lastly, I would like to say a big, big thank you to my wonderfully supportive father, your faith in me is what keeps me going! It was really uplifting to see your face at the show, especially holding the generator I so desperately needed!

Much love and I can’t wait for next year!

Lori Waltenbury

Leave a Reply

